Adams Mill is a historic grist mill located at Democrat Township, Carroll County, Indiana. It was built in 1845–1846, and is a 3 1/2-story, rectangular frame building. It measures approximately 45 feet by 50 feet, has a gable roof, and rests on a cut stone pier foundation. It remained in commercial operation until 1952. It is open to the public.Make Adams Mill a part of your Cutler vacation plans using our Cutler road trip planning app.
It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.
Adams Mill reviews
Visited on a Saturday during Quarantine, so the Mill and everything was closed. But the property is great! and the views of the Wildcat Creek/River are great. Looked around the property, then hiked... more »
A very nice restored mill. We went during the week and it was not open. Still a very quiet and peaceful area more »
The history of Adams Mill is incredibly unique, as are most extant mills today, 2012. Adams Mill is particularly fascinating because the site was designed by John Adams (previously from Pennsylvania) in 1831. History tells us that he traversed Wildcat Creek from Kokomo to Lafayette to find the best mill site location. John Adams was creative as well as an astute engineer. He found a most interesting characteristic of the Wildcat Creek near today’s town of Cutler, Indiana vicinity. Adams discovered a soon-to-be oxbow lake on the Wildcat Creek. Oxbow. Meandering Creek. When John Adams identified the geographic situation of the Wildcat Creek, he realized he could build a dam, head race, wheel pit, initially a saw mill, and a tail race within the 200-yard span between the creeks almost touching meander. The loop of the Wildcat Creek is about one mile from the dam to the water that is spent back into the creek. Adams Mill. Cutler, Indiana. Carroll County. Millrace diagram. Oxbow Meandering River. Wildcat Creek. Adams Mill. Cutler, Indiana. Carroll County. Millrace diagram. Oxbow Meandering River. Wildcat Creek. Goggle Close Up of Adams Mill. Click Here then zoom in. Adams Mill. Cutler, Indiana. Carroll County. Millrace diagram. Oxbow Meandering River. Wildcat Creek. Google Map of Adams Mill. Click Here. Adams sawmill functioned into the 1840s. His first gristmill was built in 1835. His one set of millstones operated 24-hours-a-day grinding corn and wheat. This first 2-story mill was only 26’ X 34’. Due to so many requests, he built the present mill (2012) in 1845-1846. His large mill has 3 ½ levels with 45’ X 50’ dimensions. He ran 4 sets of millstones powered by two turbines. The two turbines were set in the millrace under the mill. His original, smaller gristmill was no longer in use by 1848. John Adams died in 1858 and passed his mill on to his son Warren Adams. A covered bridge was built in 1872 to span the Wildcat Creek due to the flooding in the spring. Warren spent twenty-six years carrying on his father’s mill after John had passed away. Warren grew up and lived his life in the mill business. His success was in great part, due to his father’s keen insight into the mill’s location. Many mills were built in the early to mid-1800s found their buildings short-lived due to lack of water, destruction of floods or decimation by fire. Warren spent his life successfully as a crafted-miller during the heart of the United States industrial expansion in the 1800s. Warren died in 1884. Levi Bishop purchased Adam’s Mill in 1887 where he used flour rollers instead of grinding millstones. In 1913, Bishop’s son-in-law, Jesse Johnson had acquired the mill and used the turbines power to generate electricity for his mill. Excess of electricity was used to power local houses and the street lights in Cutler. The flouring roller mills ceased functioning in 1938. The mill was not maintained and fell into poor condition. Claude Sheets purchased the mill in 1942. He acquired a miller who used to work at Adams Mill, John Pritach. Between 1942 and 1944, Pritach resurrected the roller mills and power house and Adams Mill was once again an ongoing concern until 1952 when new flour processing laws stopped the roller mills. Claude Sheets enjoyed antiques and used the mill to display his collections. One piece was a Conestoga wagon. The mill was vacant until 1975 when it was purchased by James Broadhurst. Terry Herman worked for Mr. Broadhurst and organized and identified the antique collections of Mr. Claude Sheets. Subsequently, the mill has been maintained and preserved as an historical museum. Adams Mill was placed into the National Register of Historic Places October 10th, 1984.
Great place for a little visit during the summer.
Plan your trip to Cutler
Get a personalized tripA complete day by day itinerary
based on your preferences
Customize itRefine your trip. We'll find the
best routes and schedules
Manage itEverything in one place.
Everyone on the same page.
Trips to Adams Mill by other users
36 days in Carmel BY A USER FROM UNITED STATES Carmel Arts and Design District Monon Trail Coxhall Gardens 15 days in Lebanon BY A USER FROM UNITED STATES Shades State Park Turkey Run State Park Raccoon Lake State Recreation Area 42 days in Cleveland, Chicago & Lafayette BY A USER FROM UNITED STATES Cleveland Chicago Lafayette 32 days in West Lafayette & South Hadley BY A USER FROM UNITED STATES West Lafayette South Hadley 34 days in Indiana BY A USER FROM UNITED STATES Bloomington Evansville Terre Haute 34 days in Indiana BY A USER FROM UNITED STATES Bloomington Evansville Terre Haute