Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area, Lawrence

#9 of 9 in Museums in Lawrence
History Museum · Hidden Gem · Museum
National Heritage Areas (NHAs) are designated by Congress as places where natural, cultural, and historic resources combine to form a cohesive, nationally important landscape. Through their resources, NHAs tell nationally important stories that celebrate our nation’s diverse heritage. NHAs are lived-in landscapes. Consequently, NHA entities collaborate with communities to determine how to make heritage relevant to local interests and needs.

NHAs are a grassroots, community-driven approach to heritage conservation and economic development. Through public-private partnerships, NHA entities support historic preservation, natural resource conservation, recreation, heritage tourism, and educational projects. Leveraging funds and long-term support for projects, NHA partnerships foster pride of place and an enduring stewardship ethic.
Work out when and for how long to visit Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area and other Lawrence attractions using our handy Lawrence trip app.
Create an itinerary including Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area
© OpenMapTiles © OpenStreetMap contributors

Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area reviews

Rate this attraction
TripAdvisor traveler rating
TripAdvisor traveler rating 4.0
5 reviews
  • Stepping into this architecturally beautiful building, we weren't sure what to expect. We were looking for brochures to help us navigate through the city during our visit, and were moved to tears...  more »
  • Almost missed this as it is inside the Carnegie building. Right downtown. Such a wonderful exhibits and displays teaching about the struggles of the American Indians and African Americans. It was...  more »
  • Safe keepers and miners of rich local history
  • We love to show you our exhibits! Learn about the battle to settle the Frontier, the Border and Civil Wars on the western frontier, and the enduring struggle for freedom. We also have a special meeting exhibit on the Kansas- Nebraska Act. You can get your National Park Service Passport stamped with a unique Heritage Area stamp. We also have maps and brochures to make the most of your time visiting the 41-county heritage area.

Plan your trip to Lawrence

  • Get a personalized trip
    A complete day by day itinerary
    based on your preferences
  • Customize it
    Refine your trip. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Manage it
    Everything in one place.
    Everyone on the same page.